Skip to Main Content

The site navigation utilizes arrow, enter, escape, and space bar key commands. Left and right arrows move across top level links and expand / close menus in sub levels. Up and Down arrows will open main level menus and toggle through sub tier links. Enter and space open menus and escape closes them as well. Tab will move on to the next part of the site rather than go through menu items.

Officer Elections

During the 2021 AGM, elections for the following MSA Council positions will be held:  President, Second VP - Competitive II, Secretary/Treasurer, North District Director, and South District Director. 

In addition to these elections the following positions will need confirmation due to appointment or new Bylaws:  West District Director (appointment) and Referee Representative (new bylaws), Member-At-Large (new bylaws).

Elections for MSA's Council Members are held annually in accordance with MSA Bylaws. To be considered for election, each candidate must complete the registration form and submit online no later than 4:00 pm  60 days prior to the 2021 MSA Annual General Meeting.  The deadline for submission to MSA is November 10, 2020 @ 4 pm.


MSA Bylaws - Article V    Officers and Directors

Section 1. Officers and Directors.
 A. The elected officers of MSA shall be a president, first vice president-recreation, second vice president-competitive II, third vice president-competitive I, the member-at-large, the secretary/treasurer, and the referee representative.
B. The elected directors shall be the four (4) district directors.

Section 2. Qualifications.

The candidates for elected office shall:
1. be in good standing with MSA;
2. a candidate for office of MSA must be 19 years of age prior to August 1st of the seasonal year of election, must also be a legal resident of the State of Mississippi, and must be, or have been in the last two (2) years, a member in good standing with a Full Member.
3. not be a paid employee of MSA or of any member;
4. with respect to the referee representative, must have been a member of the State Referee Committee (SRC); and  not hold more than one office or serve concurrently as an officer or director on the council of a member organization unless prescribed otherwise by these bylaws.

Section 3. Term of Office.
A. An officer or director will serve for a period of two years and (except as otherwise noted herein) may succeed themselves.
B. Elected officers and directors shall assume office on June 1 of the year they are elected. All officers and directors shall serve for a term of two years or until their successors are elected or appointed.  If the individual is fulfilling a vacancy, the term of office or position begins immediately after being elected to fill the vacancy.

Article VI Elections

Section 1. Nominations from the Floor. Nominations from the floor are not allowed, unless there are no candidates for an office to be elected.

Section 2. Elections of Officers and Directors.
A. At the Annual General Meeting the following officers and directors will be elected in odd-numbered years: President, Second Vice President- Competitive II,Secretary/Treasurer, Northern District Director, and the Southern District Director.

B. At the Annual General Meeting the following officers and directors will be elected in even-numbered years: First Vice President - Recreation, Third Vice President –Competitive I, Member-at-Large, Referee Representative, Central District Director, and the Western District Director.

C. Any individual seeking a position on the council shall submit notice to MSA on a form approved by the council electronically, by certified mail, or commercial delivery service with signature verification at least 60 days prior to the Annual General Meeting.

D. Members of the council, except the district directors, shall be elected by majority vote of the full members.

E. Each district director shall be elected by majority vote of those full members eligible to vote for a respective district director.